BRCGS Food Safety

The BRCGS Global Standard for Food Safety is a product and process certification standard known for compliance to industry best practices.

Contact us

Related Resources

Beyond Borders: Mastering Pesticide Maximum Residue Levels and Contaminant Limits in the Global Food Sector

With an increasing spotlight on safety and consumer health, the food industry faces a significant challenge: Navigating the complex and varied regulations surrounding pesticide maximum residue levels and contaminant limits.…

FCM Value Chain Information Sharing

Discover the keys to seamless information exchange within the Food Contact Material (FCM) value chain by joining our on-demand webinar. Delve into effective strategies that are vital for FCM compliance,…

Risk Assessment Challenges in FCM

Join us for an insightful webinar addressing the challenges of information sharing in the Food Contact Material (FCM) value chain. We will explore the intricacies involved and introduce our cutting-edge…

Future-Proofing Food: 2024 Key Insights in Compliance, Fraud and Safety

Learn about key regulatory, food safety and food fraud trends to watch in the new year and how digital tools can help manage regulatory compliance and provide timely updates on…

Food and Beverage Companies Face Increasing Pressure on Chemical Contaminant Regulatory Issues

By Gul Basak Kiroglu, Regulatory Trends Product Manager TOPLINE SUMMARY Food and beverage companies must monitor the regulatory and media environment, in addition to scientific publications, to ensure appropriate resources…

Top Food Safety and Fraud Hazards For Tree Nuts and How You Can Reduce Risk

Sourcing nuts from reputable suppliers and regular testing of both raw materials and finished products are essential to avoid food safety and food fraud risks.

Feeding India First: Rice Export Ban and the Global Consequences

India, the world’s second largest rice producer and largest exporter of rice, implemented a ban on the export of non-basmati rice. The decision ignited discussion on several fronts from domestic…

Food Safety & Fraud Spotlight – July 2023

Recent studies and alarming incidents found using FoodChain ID’s Food Fraud Database and Ingredient Risk Identification by HorizonScan have shed light on the potential risks associated with various food products,…


BRCGS certification is an internationally recognized mark of food safety and quality. Certification is achieved by undertaking a third-party audit against Standard requirements by an accredited certification body (CB). BRCGS rates CBs on their technical performance and efficiency in customer service. FoodChain ID Certification is a highly rated CB providing accredited BRCGS certification globally.

The Standard

The BRCGS Global Standard for Food Safety began in the UK to help the food industry meet legislative requirements of the EU General Product Safety Directive and the UK Food Safety Act. The Food Standard is a HACCP-based food safety and quality management system based on requirements specified in the GFSI Benchmarking Requirements document. Requirements are risk-based to fit individual operations and provide the necessary level of assurance.

The benefits

BRCGS Certification may be beneficial for:

  • Finished food manufacturers
  • Raw material and ingredient suppliers
  • Packers of primary products (e.g. fruit & vegetables)

BRCGS Food Safety Standard Issue 8 was published in August 2018. Starting on February 1, 2023, sites will be audited for Issue 9. FoodChain ID is here to help our clients with that transition.

Additional Module : Meat Supply Chain Assurance

The additional modules published alongside the Global Standard for Food Safety, have been designed to reduce multiple audits by covering additional specific geographical or customer requirements and auditing them at the same time as the Global Standards audit.

The Meat Supply Chain Assurance Module has been developed in response to requests from the meat supply chain and its customers and was initiated by the British Meat Processors Association (BMPA) to reduce the audit burden on the meat sector.

  • Certification to this module in association with the Global Standards for Food Safety Issue is therefore designed to:
    demonstrate good management of the meat supply chain
  • provide confidence to customers
  • reduce the need for multiple audits of the supply chain
  • reduce costs and audit time for meat processors
  • ensure a consistent quality to meat supply chain auditing.