BRCGS Food Safety Certification

The BRCGS Global Standard for Food Safety began in the UK to help the food industry meet legislative requirements of the EU General Product Safety Directive and the UK Food Safety Act. Since that time, the Standard has received global recognition with over 20,000 certified sites worldwide. The Standard is a Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) recognized certification program.

The BRCGS Global Standard for Food Safety is a product and process certification standard known for compliance to industry best practices. BRCGS certification is an internationally recognized mark of food safety and quality. Certification is achieved by undertaking a third-party audit against Standard requirements by an accredited certification body (CB). BRCGS rates CBs on their technical performance and efficiency in customer service. Both FoodChain ID Certification in the UK and USA are highly-rated CBs providing accredited BRCGS certification globally.

In recent decades, food recalls have increased sparking greater consumer awareness about the safety of foods they eat and causing retailers and food service providers to implement assurance measures, which protect the firm and brand against a recall. As a result, many UK, North American and European retailers mandate that their suppliers provide such assurance by achieving GFSI-recognized certification.

As a GFSI-recognized certification program, BRCGS certification offers:

  • Internationally recognized, accredited food safety and quality certification
  • Food safety assurance
  • Reduced supply chain audits
  • A system which supports legal compliance

BRCGS Food Safety Certification may be beneficial for:

  • Finished Food Manufacturers (branded & unbranded products)
  • Raw material and ingredient suppliers
  • Packers of primary products (e.g. fruit & vegetables)

The Standard is a HACCP-based food safety and quality management system based on requirements specified in the GFSI Benchmarking Requirements document. Requirements are risk-based to fit individual operations and provide the necessary level of assurance.

BRCGS Food Safety Standard Issue 8 was published in August 2018.

The focus of attention for this issue has been on:

• Encouraging development of product safety culture
• Expanding the requirements for environmental monitoring to reflect the increasing importance of this technique
• Encouraging sites to further develop systems for security and food defense
• Adding clarity to the requirements for high-risk, high-care and ambient high-care production risk zones
• Providing greater clarity for sites manufacturing pet food
• Ensuring global applicability and benchmarking to the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI)

Make sure you’re prepared for your audit by downloading the Issue 8 Auditor Checklist and Site Self-Assessment Tool

The cost of BRCGS certification depends on many factors surrounding your facility, including the size of the facility and the scope that the certification needs to cover. To take the first steps in becoming BRCGS certified, please contact our office so we can assess the requirements of your business.

BRCGS Participate is the most convenient and flexible way to access all the content produced by BRCGS Global Standards. BRCGS Participate is a managed, subscription-based, online service that subscribers can access to view content, download PDFs of the the BRCGS and access Interpretation Guidelines and supporting publications online, selecting your language of choice where translations are available.

For more information, please visit

Start Your Journey To Certification Today