Brexit: Third negative UK vote on withdrawal agreement last Friday

The European Council (Article 50) agreed on Thursday 21 March to extend the UK’s departure date to 22 May 2019, provided the Withdrawal Agreement is approved by the House of Commons (UK) by 29 March 2019 at the latest.

However the withdrawal agreement was rejected a third time last Friday by the House of Commons (UK) by 344 votes against 286.

The United Kingdom must now indicate to the European Council before 12 April 2019 a way forward. European Council President Donald Tusk called a special European Council on 10 April.

A UK exit from the EU with “no deal” on 12 April 2019 is now a likely scenario. In that case, the United Kingdom will become a third country and Union law will cease to apply in the United Kingdom. There will be no transition period.

Brexit: third negative UK vote on the withdrawal agreement

Since December 2017, the European Commission has been preparing for a “no-deal” scenario.

For more information: